Daydream Believer

by bkajlich

I am obsessed with this video.  I can’t stop watching it.  I love love love when people use film and music to the full extent of its purpose and capabilities.  I also love it because my sister-in-law sent it to me and said it reminded her of me.  I also also love it because I am a ridiculous dreamer, both asleep and awake.  I feel for anyone who has ever tried to surprise me, because the minute I know there is a surprise to be had I have already dreamed it into an existence a thousand times bigger than whatever it actually could be.  My mind’s eye knows no boundaries and my heart is as easily willing to go along for the ride.  My favorite book(well depending on the day, but most days it’s this one) is The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho.  I named my dog Santiago  after the main character, a young shepherd boy who goes in search of his dreams. Coelho writes “At a certain point in our lives, we lose control of what’s happening to us, and our lives become controlled by fate. That’s the world’s greatest lie.”  As children, we believe wholeheartedly and passionately in our dreams… each day begins anew with limitless possibilities and hope.  We are the masters of our universe and throw ourselves into each new adventure, riding it out to the end, until the next one unfolds.  Yet at some point, we become convinced that we are no longer at the helm. Our shoulders sag, our eyes grow dim, and we fall into line behind everyone else.  I don’t know about you, but I refuse to believe the lie.  I fell prey to it for a nanosecond.  I began to recite things that I had heard other adults say, thought that it made me sound more responsible and safe.  Someone to be taken seriously.  You want to know what happened?  I couldn’t book a job to save my life.  For years I had seamlessly flowed from one gig to the next, and then zzzzzzzzzzzzzz crickets.  The minute I decided to let the dreamer back in, I had a job. Okay maybe not the minute, but two months later, no joke. And today, she is full throttle with my crazy ass behind the wheel.  And meditation only enhances the experience.  By honoring the stillness and the gift of the moment, I allow the what ifs and might have beens to fall to the wayside.  All that’s left is the gratitude and belief that all that I want to make anything possible already exists inside little ol’ me. It too exists inside of you.  As a call to arms, in the name of our dreams; “Make Voyages! Attempt them!! There is nothing else…..” Gotta love my man Tennessee Williams. DREAM ON!!  xx