VIsits

by bkajlich

Tonight’s sit really took it out of me.  I guess I had been holding on to some stuff for a bit.  On the first inhale I began to feel a familiar tug, and on the next a bigger tug, and then oh my emotion…. cresting and washing over me like a wave.  I can’t even tell you why. I mean, I can probably guess a handful of different things, but there wasn’t one specific thing I could pinpoint.  And then it was over, and I felt… Better. Lighter. Cleansed.

And sleepy.  In the best possible way.

I can’t remember what Julia Robert’s movie it was, “my best friends wedding” I think. She’s sitting out in the hall of her hotel with the weight of the world on her shoulder and a bellhop walks by and says “this too shall pass”.  Cute, entertaining movie, with a profound statement right smack in the center.  I have been through some dark times in my life, and the one thing I can say for certain about all of them, is that they passed.  “Why worry, there’s always sunshine after rain”… nowhere truer than in LA today.  CRAZY downpours, violent winds, dark skies, and then suddenly, the sun. Beautifully brilliant, and a welcome sight.  If it weren’t for what came before it, we would have just passed it off as another sunny southern California day.

I am heading to bed. Short post, yes. But never without substance.  Tonight I leave you with words of yet another incredible heart and mind. The Persian poet and philosopher; Rumi.  The Guest House has long been on my list of go to’s. Tonight, with the rain and the wind, sorrow and tears, all followed by the return of the sun… I can’t think of a better way to cap off a day that had a little bit of everything. xx

The Guest House

This being human is a guest house.
Every morning a new arrival.

A joy, a depression, a meanness,
some momentary awareness comes
as an unexpected visitor.

Welcome and entertain them all!
Even if they’re a crowd of sorrows,
who violently sweep your house
empty of its furniture,
still, treat each guest honorably.
He may be clearing you out
for some new delight.

The dark thought, the shame, the malice,
meet them at the door laughing,
and invite them in.

Be grateful for whoever comes,
because each has been sent
as a guide from beyond.