dear hearts

by bkajlich

I’m starting to believe that our purpose in life is to get the snot kicked out of us in every way possible and then continue to find new ways to surprise ourselves when we come out on the other end right side up(and if we’re lucky and/or wise, the better for it). My Mother has a quote that she absolutely loves and attempts to paraphrase at least every other day:

“Life is not a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in a pretty and well preserved body, but rather to skid in broadside, thoroughly used up, totally worn out, and screaming WOW!!! What a Ride!”

(fyi mom, you were pretty close about 90% of the time)

I unfortunately must keep tonight’s post short and sweet. I’ve procrastinated all day and am now attempting to cram 10 things into the last hour before sleep….. ah but what else is new. It was an amazing day and I enjoyed every bloody second of it. Tonight’s sit was a thoughtful one, and I don’t mean that it was polite and kind.  I just couldn’t stop thinking about so many different things. Sometimes that happens, and you just have to see if for what it is and of course, let it be. And as I let go, I drifted away on a thought about our dear hearts, and how so many of you have touched mine.  I really am blown away by how much can happen to a person, and that the capacity to love not only still exists, but seems to actually GROW.

I love this quote: “the heart is the the only broken instrument that works”.  I’ve known so many people who skipped out on taking chances in life because they believed that the potential hurt wasn’t worth the risk.  I’m just not that person. I’ve learned to be a little bit smarter with age, but I still jump feet first, eyes closed, and heart open. Wouldn’t have it any other way. Good night to each of you. Here’s to hoping that you will remember to live a little with your eyes closed, and your hearts open.  Much love, xxB