Right Where You Are.

by bkajlich

You are a child of the universe,
no less than the trees and the stars;
you have a right to be here.
And whether or not it is clear to you,
no doubt the universe is unfolding as it should.

~from Max Ehrmann’s “Desiderata”

For those of you unfamiliar, this is Luna, my five year old boston terrier.  I love this picture. If there were a thought bubble foaming out of that stubborn little snout it would say “Here I am. Deal with it.”  I am often impressed with the abilities of those who are able to sit still in a given moment and genuinely be at peace with where they are, even if the present circumstances are less than desired.  A dear friend of mine can often be heard muttering under his breath, “I am exactly where I am supposed to be at this very moment.”(It’s more or less his mantra, and sometimes I wonder if maybe he would be a little more zen if he’d stop saying it long enough to actually be in the moment).

Why is it that we fight so hard against what just is?? In my sit this evening I really wanted to drop in deeper. I wanted to go to that place that I sometimes get to while meditating where I just totally bliss out. It wasn’t to be, and now I wonder if it wasn’t me wishing so much for that specific experience that drove it away from existing in the first place.  Why do we have such a hard time accepting what is in the here and now? How often do you find yourself thinking that you thought you would be so much farther along in your life at this point?  Or that you thought you would have A and B before reaching C?  Or that if you plot and plan this way and that, you can make something you really want happen.  Books and movies like “The Secret” only make matters worse by telling us that we need to focus with all our might on the things that we want and they will indeed be realized.  What’s that old saying about a watched pot never boiling??  yeah, exactly.

One of my teachers says that you can’t climb the mountain by focusing on the top.  You’ve got to put one foot in front of the other, one step at a time. You have to take the view in at every stage of the climb so that when you do get to the top, you arrive with all the knowledge you gathered from the ground up.  Every part of the journey is with you in your head and in your heart.  There is no other way.

Over the course of the past year, as I dealt with my life changing in ways that I was not ready to accept, I found myself saying over and over, “this wasn’t how it was supposed to be”.  Over and over.  It was the main thing that I had the most trouble wrapping my head around.  And then one day, it hit me…..OH. I guess this is exactly how it was supposed to be. BECAUSE IT IS.

I used to hate the saying, “it is what is is.” And now I can’t think of anything else to say but that. It’s true. IT. IS. WHAT. IT. IS.  Quit making it worse for yourself and accept it.  When you learn to accept what is, you will truly begin to live your life, this I promise you.  And the irony of all ironies is that when you begin to live your life in this way, everything that you need will slowly fall into place.

You are exactly where you are supposed to be in this very moment.  My friend may be a tad overzealous with his commitment to this statement, but he’s got the right idea.  YOU ARE. Luna says “Accept it and deal with it.

Amen sister. xx